Annual Report of the Internal Complaints Committee, KSPP, for the Academic Year 2023-24

## Introduction

A decision to constitute a Committee Against Sexual Harassment of the Kautilya School of Public Policy, GITAM (deemed to be university) was taken in the Academic Meeting on 22nd September 2022. The Committee Against Sexual Harassment (CASH) of the Kautilya School of Public Policy, GITAM (deemed to be university) came into being on 18th October 2022. On 22nd February 2023 the CASH was renamed the Internal Complaints Committee (ICC) as per the notification from the Ministry of Human Resource Development 2016.

The responsibilities of the ICC are to sensitise KSPP on issues of sexual harassment and to redress complaints of sexual harassment as and when they arise.

This annual report is presented to the Dean as per the KSPP Policy on Sexual Harassment.

## Composition

The composition of the ICC at the end of the academic year 2023-24 is as follows:

Dr. Vasudha Katju Dr. Amrendra Pandey Ms. Shivangi Pandey Ms. Ranjeeta Sinha Ms. Vaibhavi Awasthi Mr. Nishant Puniani Dr. A Suneetha Dr. Ajay Kumar

Additionally, the following have been members of the ICC in the academic year 2023-24:

Dr. Parul Thapar Ms. Arushi Jha Ms. Aishwarya Bansal Ms. Neelam Mehra Dr. Prageetha Raju

## Activities of the ICC in the academic year 2023-24

The activities of the ICC for the academic year 2023-24 were as follows:

 Amendment of the KSPP Policy on Sexual Harassment: The KSPP Policy on Sexual Harassment has been drafted keeping in mind the guidelines presented by the UGC in 'Saksham: Measures for Ensuring the Safety of Women and Programmes for Gender Sensitization on Campuses'.

a. The Policy has been amended to include annexures 1 and 2 which clarify the complaint process. The annexures are based on the Ministry of Women and Child Development, Handbook on Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act, 2013 for Employers/Institutions/Organisations/Internal Complaints Committee/Local Complaints Committee.

b. The Policy has been amended to extend its scope to non-KSPP students who take courses at KSPP. The amended section reads as follows, with the addition in bold: '4.2.2.(b) Complaints may be made against any KSPP student or KSPP employee or resident of GITAM Residence for block-C Residents. **Complaints may also be made against any student enrolled in a course at KSPP for any matter arising in their capacity as a student of the course or during their interaction with any student or staff member of KSPP.** Complaints may be regarding incidents in KSPP/Block C premises or at any place where KSPP employees/students are present in any official capacity including but not limited to conferences, seminars, field visits, internships etc.' c. The amended policy has been circulated to all students and staff of KSPP via email and also been displayed on notice boards on the KSPP and Block C premises.

- 2. Renaming CASH as ICC
- 3. Renaming of the ICC email address to icc@kautilya.org.in
- 4. Election of student representatives to ICC:

14th August 2023: Nishant Puniani was elected unopposed; Aishwarya Bansal was elected unopposed

8th September 2023: Vaibhavi Awasthi was elected

- 5. Sensitisation Programmes:
  - ICC Sensitisation in KSPP as part of the Orientation activities, 4th August 2023
  - Gender Sensitization Program in Block C, 21st August 2023
  - Discussion on 'How Do You Navigate Different Spaces in a University Setting,' 3rd December 2023
  - Screening of the film 'Joyland' in Block C, 4th May 2024
  - ICC Sensitisation in KSPP as part of the Orientation activities, 25th July 2024
- 6. ICC meetings took place on the following dates:
  - 20th October 2023
    Members present: Dr. Amrendra Pandey, Dr. Parul Thapar, Ms. Arushi Jha, Ms. Aishwarya Bansal, Ms. Vaibhavi Awasthi, Mr. Nishant Puniani, Dr. Vasudha Katju
    6th February 2024
  - Members present: Dr. Amrendra Pandey, Dr. Parul Thapar, Ms. Shivangi Pandey, Ms. Aishwarya Bansal, Ms. Vaibhavi Awasthi, Mr. Nishant Puniani, Dr. Vasudha Katju

- 2nd May 2024

Members present: Dr. Amrendra Pandey, Ms. Vaibhavi Awasthi, Mr. Nishant Puniani, Ms. Ranjeeta Sinha, Dr. Prageetha Raju, Dr. Vasudha Katju

## Complaints

Number of complaints received: One

Number of complaints resolved: One

Number of complaints pending: Nil